… and best laid plans of mice and men…

So much for time off and a quiet week with my feet up at home for some much needed rest. “Have you made any plans Stu?” “No, not really…” Three hours later a knock at the door and ” Grab a few things, you’re needed back home…”

I don’t enjoy being a car passenger for a long journey. I’d rather take the train and be able to move around, have a break and a short walk during changes. They didn’t tell me they’d be coming over to whisk me away as I’m “always full of excuses” and “would’ve put us off”. I could hardly refuse once they’d taken the trouble and were here, in force. My elderly mother is ill and there were things to discuss and things to sort and time to spend… my itinerary planned for me and reliant on my sister-in-law for my journey home at her convenience. I wasn’t able to be much help even while present but will they ever listen. no, they have to see it for themselves. Mother understands and needs no explanation.

Home at last…

Selfishly I’ve been worrying about my blog, how I set out a few weeks ago to increase my writing and posting habit. These things just aren’t happening in a hurry. I took my notebook and a good book but barely had a moment’s peace with them. A quick shift rearrangement and I have one day off for recuperation tomorrow before hitting back at the grindstone Tuesday. Tomorrow I’ll resume my three words a day – I have a lot to catch up with and I’ll maybe do those I missed somehow differently…

